ROUGHSKETCH

I took an AMTRAK train from NC to NYC and carried a little packet of Stillman and Birn paper samples to do some urban sketching. My materials were ink/watercolor pencils/waterbrush. Some of my subjects got more than one portrait during the long journey.

Hands do our work even with arthritis—a kind of ravaged beauty. You can spot this lady in several of the sketches.

My comrade here gave up at this point and tried to sleep on her folding tray.

I started off the journey considerably” fresher” than I ended it! OH THE HUMANITY!  I could not see more than 2 features at a time in the pocket mirror–but the emotions are there in any case! The papers performed admirably!

 

View original post

Leave a Reply

